Scholars list

If you wish to be included in this list, please fill in this form.

Page 2 of 2

First name Surname Institution & Position Research interests & geographic focus Link to profile & email
Olga Nieuwenhuys (Dr.) University of Amsterdam - Guest Researcher Children's living rights; postcolonial childhood(s); children's work and worth. - India, Global South o.nieuwenhuys@uva.nl
Nurhadi Nurhadi University of Gadjah Mada - Lecturere Children's rights and business practices, child labour, child poverty, child-focused research methods - Indonesia, Asia nurhadi.staff.ugm.ac.id nurhadi@ugm.ac.id
Debbie Olson (Dr.) University of Texas at Arlington - Adjunct faculty Images of children in visual media, children in popular culture, African and African American children in cinema, children and/in gaming culture - West Africa (Senegalese cinema) and South Africa dolson@uta.edu https://uta.academia.edu/debbieolson
Philomena Osseo-Asare (Mrs.) University of Sheffield - PhD researcher Postcolonial studies, early childhood education, early literacy, teacher education, language policy in Ghana - UK, Ghana p.a.osseo-asare@sheffield.ac.uk
Henry Parada (Dr.) Ryerson University - Associate Professor Children migration, protection, social media and youth rights. - Central America, Dominican Republic hparada@ryerson.ca
Emma Pearson (Dr.) Bishop Grosseteste University - Senior Lecturer Global contexts for early childhood care and education; linkage between 'evidence' and policy; cultural contexts of child development and care. - South Asia, East Asia, Pacific emma.pearson@bishopg.ac.uk
Kirrily Pells (Dr.) UCL Institute of Education - Lecturer in Childhood Social study of childhoods globally especially in relation to poverty, development and conflict; children's rights; violence affecting children; gendered transitions to adulthood; and child-sensitive policies and programmes - Sub-Saharan Africa (especially Rwanda and Ethiopia); India, Vietnam and Peru k.pells@ioe.ac.uk https://ioe.academia.edu/KirrilyPells
Kirsten Pontalti (Ms.) University of Oxford - Dphil Candidate Children and youth and social change; transitions; Rwanda; education; state reconstruction and development; kinship; generations; economic development - East and central Africa; Southeast Asia kirsten.pontalti@seh.ox.ac.uk https://oxford.academia.edu/KirstenPontalti
Samantha Punch (Professor) University of Stirling - Prof. of Sociology Children's food practices in Scotland; work, education, migration and youth transitions in Latin America and Asia; sibling relationships and birth order - Bolivia, China, Vietnam, India, Scotland s.v.punch@stir.ac.uk http://rms.stir.ac.uk/converis-stirling/person/11203
Lucia Rabello De Castro (Professor) Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro - Prof. of Child & Youth Development Theories of child and youth; methodologies in child studies; childhood and social and political participation; subjectivity and culture - Brazil lrcastro@infolink.com.br
Lauren Rea (Dr.) University of Sheffield - Lecturer in Hispanic Studies Historical constructions of childhood; education and literacy; popular literature and entertainment in children's magazines - Argentina l.rea@sheffield.ac.uk
Cavagnoud Robin (Dr.) Pontifica Universidad Católica del Perú - Professor - Childhood, family and education in poverty and social inequality contexts. - Individual and family strategies of adaptation and subsistence (child labor, teen prostitution, labor migration, multi-residence), - Educational pathways of working children and adolescents (conciliation school/work and school dropping) - Transitions of young people from childhood to adulthood (studies, work, family life, sexuality) - Andean Countries (Peru and Bolivia) rcavagnoud@pucp.pe http://www.pucp.edu.pe/robin-cavagnoud/
Aviva Sinervo (Dr.) San Francisco State University - Visiting Lecturer Children and Childhoods, Tourism, International Aid/Charity/Assistance, Poverty, NGOs, Child Labor, Volunteering, Political Economy, Affect, Development, Humanitarianism - Peru, Andes, Latin America asinervo@sfsu.edu
Shweta Singh (Dr.) Loyola University Chicago - Associate Professor Career and goal setting, home and school relationships - South Asia http://luc.academia.edu/ShwetaSingh ssingh9@luc.edu
Jessica Taft (Dr.) University of California at Santa Cruz - Assistant Professor Youth activism; intergenerational partnerships; young people's political identities; working children's movements; children's participation; protagonismo; girls' studies; feminist theory; participatory democracy - Latin America; North America http://lals.ucsc.edu/faculty/singleton.php?&singleton=true&cruz_id=jtaft
Sara Thiam (Dr.) Michigan Technological University / Johns Hopkins University - Anthropology Lecturer/MPH candidate Children's rights, humanitarian aid, life course development and health, child victimization and mental health, non-governmental organizations, Qur'anic education, cross-cultural childhoods, child migration, child fosterage/circulation - Francophone West Africa, Senegal, Mali sthiam1@jhu.edu https://www.linkedin.com/pub/sara-elizabeth-thiam/32/318/812
Kate Tilleczek (Dr.) Young Lives Research - UPEI - Professor and Canada Research Chair Young lives in global and local contexts - education, mental health, technology, digital media, influences of modernity ktilleczek@upei.ca http://katetilleczek.ca/
Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo (Dr.) Texas Tech University - Associate Professor Positive Adolescent Development Etiology of Risk-Taking Behaviors and Deviance Ethnic/Racial Minorities, Immigrant Youth, and At Risk Youth Cross-Cultural Comparative Research - Latin America (particularly Mexico), Europe (particularly Spain and Ireland), the US. Latin American diaspora in the US and Europe. elizabeth.trejos@ttu.edu https://www.depts.ttu.edu/hs/hdfs/trejos-castillo.php
Christine Woodrow (Assoc. Professor) Centre for Educational Research, Western Sydney University - Senior Researcher Transnational research- children and families, children as active agents in their own learning, early years literacy, children in low ses and complex communities and their early education, models of professional learning, leadership identities, parent engagement, children as active agents in their own learning, early years literacy, children in low ses and complex communities and their early education - Australia and Chile c.woodrow@westernsydney.edu.au http://www.westernsydney.edu.au/staff_profiles/uws_profiles/associate_professor_christine_woodrow
Sepideh Yousefzadeh (Dr.) University of Groningen, the Netherlands - Post-doc researcher Child poverty, child growth, the Capability Approach and children. http://www.rug.nl/staff/s.yousefzadeh/ yousefzadeh.sepideh@gmail.com
Sumin Zhao (Dr.) University of Technology Sydney - Chancellor's Postdoctoral Fellow Digital literacies and bilingualism in early childhood. Preschool aged children from immigrant families in the global contexts (Australia, Uk, China) sumin.zhao@uts.edu.au